Canon Garth Minott to be Consecrated as Bishop on June 11


The Rev. Canon Garth Minott, Deputy President and Warden of Anglican Students at the United Theological College of the West Indies (UTCWI) will be ordained and consecrated as the seventh Suffragan Bishop of Kingston on June 11, The Feast of St. Barnabas, at the Kingston Parish Church.

The Most Rev. Howard Gregory, Archbishop of the West Indies and Bishop of Jamaica & The Cayman Islands, will be the Chief Consecrator at the Service which will begin at 10.00 am and will be streamed live.  Co-Consecrators will be The Rt. Rev. Leopold Friday, Bishop of the Windward Islands; The Rt. Rev. Michael Maxwell, Bishop of Barbados; the Rt. Rev. Leon Golding, Suffragan Bishop of Montego Bay; and Retired Bishops of the Diocese, The Rt. Rev. Harold Daniel and The Rt. Rev. Robert Thompson.

The Rev. Canon Minott was confirmed as Bishop-elect when he secured the required two-thirds majority of both the House of Clergy and the House of Laity in the Elective Assembly at the 151st Synod of the Diocese on April 20.

Canon Minott, who was ordained a Deacon in 1992 and a Priest in 1993, holds the Bachelor of Arts Degree in Theology from the University of The West Indies and the Master of Arts Degree in Theology from McGill University in Canada. He served initially as Assistant Curate at the Church of the Holy Trinity in Westgate, Montego Bay; before taking up duties as Priest-in-Charge and subsequently, Rector of St. Mark’s Church, in Brown’s Town, St. Ann between 1994 and 2003.

His commitment to the Church and its Mission; his consistent leadership of the University Chapel Community, and his 19-year stint at the UTCWI where he was responsible for the formation of priests since 2003, are among the highlights of the Bishop-elect’s ministry. He has also been Deputy President at the institution since 2018.  In addition, he has served many institutions in Jamaica, the Province of the West Indies, and the wider Anglican Communion; and he has authored several publications.

He is married to Denise and they have two sons, Mark and Stephen.        

Previous Suffragan Bishops of Kingston include The Rt. Rev. Percival Gibson, 1947-1955; The Rt. Rev. E. L. Evans, 1957-1960; The Rt. Rev. John Cyril Swaby, 1961-1968; The Rt. Rev. Thomas John Clarke, 1968-1988; The Rt. Rev. Herman Spence, 1989-2001; and The Rt. Rev. Robert McLean Thompson, 2005-2020.

Contact:  Communication Officer, Diocese of Jamaica & The Cayman Islands
2 Caledonia Avenue, Kingston 5; Tel: 876-926-8925;
Date: June 7, 2022